Food Prep With The Isobag Mini

This is food prep made easy.  My reasons for food preparation are to save time during the week, to keep my meals clean and healthy, spend less at Zoe’s Kitchen (love) and to keep me from eating out a box when I am home from teaching classes (so hungry and tired). Can anyone relate?

Hey, I get it. We are all busy. The world is busy. I understand. We all do different jobs, have different schedules, have loads of responsibilities, families to take care of etc. and I think many of us have some of the same goals too. We want to get fit and healthy, we want to maintain fitness and health, we want to choose better foods, and we want our families to be healthy and happy. I know it is overwhelming. I am here to tell you there is a way to prepare simple healthy meals and snacks ahead of time so you are not consumed by chaos and then resort to “the box” full of fake food or fast food.

Say hello to my little friend, the Isobag Mini 🙂

20140921_190830_resized

20140921_190920

I found this little gem at http://www.IsolatorFitness.com so I ordered. When I received it something clicked. Food prep made easy. I have food prepped before and I was not organized, I over complicated things, I did not have the correct types of tools, I was a mess. I know you may think it is just a cooler but wait, it is a cooler, but it is special. It comes with its own containers (dishwasher and microwave safe and BPA free), a shaker bottle, its own ice pack, and it is small and light. It also comes in different colors. I think the pink suits me. I am here to tell you Big Things do come in small packages.

20140922_102930_1_resized

Anyway, I am writing this post because I have many clients and students asking me about food and nutrition, how to eat healthier, easy recipes and all of that. I give them my opinion, write-up plans, follow-up and then I get the spill, “I don’t have time”, or “I can’t”. Well, we all have the same amount of time in a day and we all are busy. If you really want to change something, you have to make it a priority. This is what works for me and this is how I did it.

I had to think ahead. I ordered the bag with some extra containers. I decided to make simple meals that did not have too many ingredients (save time right?) I chose Sunday afternoon to do food prep. I chose baked garlic chicken tenders, spinach and feta turkey balls, asparagus, brown rice, green beans, sweet potatoes, white potatoes with salsa on top, sliced apples, rice cakes with peanut or almond butter, raw nuts, and protein shakes. These foods are so easy to prepare. Bake the potatoes, steam the veges, cook the rice (not minute stuff, it is just rice and water and simmer), bake or grill chicken, turkey balls are simple and are under “fitmuffins” here on my blog. Done.

I then portioned out the meals in the handy Isobag containers, mix and match, and food prep was done.

20140921_203218

20140921_203159

I placed neatly into the refrigerator and I packed my bag when I was ready to go. The ice pack stayed very cold all day.

20140922_102738_1_resized

To top if all off, dinner was ready when I got home. It just took a couple of hours to prepare and it was so worth it. Now if you are overwhelmed with thoughts of how to eat healthier and incorporate it into your lifestyle, give this a try. It is great for those of you at the office all day and for those of you who travel for work. Hey busy moms taking your kids to after school activities and sports, don’t go to the fast food drive through for their snacks everyday, try food prep and the Isobag mini. Oh and hey all my runner friends who put miles and miles of training in for that marathon or ultra marathon, I know you need your fuel handy. Give it a try.

Hope this helps inspire someone to see that preparing healthy food can be simple. Remember, don’t over complicate. FYI, the bags come in different sizes and colors 🙂

I will post more food prep ideas on my Instagram and Twitter if you would like to see more. I am @nthefitzone.

 

*Consult your physician before beginning any new exercise or nutrition program.

 

 

About nthefitzone

Hi, my name is Allyson. I am a 40 something yoga and Pilates teacher. This blog documents my passion for yoga, Pilates, running, strength training, nutrition, and healthy cooking. I hope to inspire others to find their inner athlete, to get strong and healthy, to set goals and reach them. Age doesn't matter. Anything is possible with hard work, determination, drive, commitment and passion. Follow along for some healthy fun and find your inner athlete. It's in there, just waiting to shine :)

Posted on September 23, 2014, in Meal Prep and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment