Half Fanatic

Hi all, just wanted to give a little update of what has been going on here at nthefitzone. A few weeks ago, I finished the Salt Lake City half marathon. It was a goal of mine since the beginning of this year and I am proud to say I finished and in under 2 hours. I was not sure how I would perform since I had never ran a race in altitude before. I struggled in the beginning with my breathing. There were hills the first couple of miles and then things began to level off and the downhills began ๐Ÿ™‚ A minor injury had been nagging me a couple of weeks prior to the race and it surfaced about mile 7 causing me to slow down. I walked a few times, but in the end I still finished with a time I am proud of (1:57:00 official). Overall, the race was well-organized, the weather was perfect, ย and it was a beautiful course.

This is me about mile 6 feeling pretty good.

IMG_20140419_094859

and after the finish feeling great.

IMG_20140419_094224

Then, the very next weekend, I got wild and crazy and decided last-minute to run the Auburn Running Festival, Finish on the 50 half marathon. I graduated from Auburn and I wanted to run this race last year but unfortunately I did not. My intention was to do the 10k but I woke up that morning and said why not just do the half. The course was very hilly and it was warm. My nagging injury returned about mile 8 but I kept moving forward the best I could. I took a trip down memory lane as I ran through campus and I proudly finished on the 50 yard line of Jordan-Hare Stadium, the home of the AUsome Auburn Tigers. I also got to pose after the race with Cam Newton. Haha!

IMG_20140426_094909_266

So here is my bling and bling ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_20140430_114739

So after I finished on the 50, a couple of people told me that I qualify to be a Half Fanatic. I had never heard of this but apparently it is an official group. By finishing back to back half marathons, I qualify to be in this group, eeeekkk, fun! I will definitely check this out. FYI: there is a Marathon Maniac group too.

So that is a quick update of the happenings over the past month. I do not have any big races planned until the end of August. I am meeting some friends in Atlanta to do the first “Hotlanta” half marathon that starts in Underground Atlanta. Sounds like a burner! I do have some new goals and a new workout that I am excited about that I will share with you in the next post. For the next month or two I am keeping my runs shorter. I feel the need for speed! ย Thanks for reading if you made it this far.

Have you heard of the Half Fanatics?

 

About nthefitzone

Hi, my name is Allyson. I am a 40 something yoga and Pilates teacher. This blog documents my passion for yoga, Pilates, running, strength training, nutrition, and healthy cooking. I hope to inspire others to find their inner athlete, to get strong and healthy, to set goals and reach them. Age doesn't matter. Anything is possible with hard work, determination, drive, commitment and passion. Follow along for some healthy fun and find your inner athlete. It's in there, just waiting to shine :)

Posted on May 12, 2014, in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

