FIT IN 5 #2/Beginner/Intermediate 5 minute Workout

Grab your dumbbells! Let’s sweat it out with some strength building muscle work. Time for FIT IN 5 #2. FIT IN 5’s are my 5 minute workouts that help me stay strong and healthy when I am short on time. I can always squeeze in at least 5 minutes. This workout is all about strength. I think strength training is very important in a well-rounded fitness routine because of the many benefits. According to the CDC, “strength training is very powerful in reducing the signs and symptoms of some diseases and chronic conditions such as arthritis, diabetes, osteoporosis, obesity, back pain and depression”. The CDC states that “strengthening exercises are safe for men and women of all ages, including those who are not in perfect health”. Of course I always recommend consulting with your own physician before beginning any new exercise program.

Some of the benefits include:

1. Improves balance

2. Strengthens bones

3. Healthy state of mind

4. Proper weight management

5. Improved glucose control

6. Sleep improvements

7. Healthy heart tissue

That is enough to pump me up and get me motivated about staying strong and healthy. This workout requires 5-10 lb dumbbells depending on your fitness level. It is not in real-time like I wanted to do (a little trouble uploading) so I shortened it. All that is needed is a timer set to 1 minute intervals, dumbbells and pump it up music 🙂

5 exercise/1 minute each

1. Squat Press

2. Renegade Rows (modifications shown)

3. Kickbacks

4. Side to Side Squats/Bicep Curl

5. Bicycle Abs (modifications shown)

I will do this at least once, but if I have a little more time, I repeat it 2-3 times for a longer more intense, but still quick workout.

Below is a photo of the renegade rows which is a favorite of mine, plus the link to the video.

How do you fit your fitness in when short on time?

1387262614017

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WAX1he4C-xk

*Always consult your physician before beginning any new exercise program.

*Source – cdc.gov

About nthefitzone

Hi, my name is Allyson. I am a 40 something yoga and Pilates teacher. This blog documents my passion for yoga, Pilates, running, strength training, nutrition, and healthy cooking. I hope to inspire others to find their inner athlete, to get strong and healthy, to set goals and reach them. Age doesn't matter. Anything is possible with hard work, determination, drive, commitment and passion. Follow along for some healthy fun and find your inner athlete. It's in there, just waiting to shine :)

Posted on December 17, 2013, in FIT IN 5 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

