Easy And Healthy Slow Cooker Chicken Parmesan

This weekend was awesome and relaxing. Friday night I cooked fish tacos and Saturday night I cooked sea bass for the first time. It turned out great. Tonight was the slow cooker chicken parmesan. No frying is involved so that eliminates a bunch of fat that this dish is known for. Keep in mind it will not be crunchy, but it still has the yummy comforting flavor with fewer calories.

In a bowl beat 2 eggs with a fork. In a separate bowl combine 1/4 cup parmesan cheese with 1/2 cup Italian seasoned bread crumbs. Spread a little olive oil in the bottom of the slow cooker/crock pot. Take 4 skinless chicken breasts, dip each in egg and then into crumb/cheese mix and lay on the bottom of the crock pot. Pour 1 jar of your favorite sauce on top and cook on low for 5-6 hours. I served the chicken with whole wheat pasta. This easy, healthier version will be a hit with the family!

chickenparmR

Well, I have a lot going on. The 10,000 Steps For Health Challenge is still going strong. I was interviewed by our local paper about the challenge. I am hoping to get the word out to inspire people to make small changes that can improve their health. I am wearing my pedometer every day and I am averaging about 10,000 to 12,000 steps per day. I have also been doing the Runner’s World Holiday Run Streak Challenge. I have completed 11 days in a row. Some days I do just a mile, but my streak is going strong. This challenge has really kept me motivated and I can already feel improvements in my runs.

I am still involved in the Under Armour What’s Beautiful Competition. I have been a part of the What’s Beautiful Community for over a year now and I love it. It is such a strong support of women from all over the world. We compete with each other but we all support each other too. These women are so inspiring and motivating! If you have not checked it out, go take a look at http://www.whatsbeautiful.ua.com and see what you are missing. I will be doing a separate post about the What’s Beautiful Community soon. I am also involved in an Instagram challenge from Under Armour. I have won 2 swag bags of their awesome gear. This is a fun challenge where you post a pic of yourself doing the challenge that is given for that day. They pick two winners every week to win a swag bag and trust me, they are very generous šŸ™‚ To join just follow @Shauna_Harrison @UnderArmourWomen and tag them and use the hashtag #sweataday. Below is a photo of myself in a side plank challenge this week. Keep in mind, she always gives modifications for the challenges. The sweataday challenge is for men and women so check it out!

IMG_20131205_151253

I finished the weekend decorating for Christmas. Time seems like it is flying by and the New Year will be here before you know it. I have got to start thinking of my resolutions. Organizing will be one. What is your New Year Resolution going to be?

About nthefitzone

Hi, my name is Allyson. I am a 40 something yoga and Pilates teacher. This blog documents my passion for yoga, Pilates, running, strength training, nutrition, and healthy cooking. I hope to inspire others to find their inner athlete, to get strong and healthy, to set goals and reach them. Age doesn't matter. Anything is possible with hard work, determination, drive, commitment and passion. Follow along for some healthy fun and find your inner athlete. It's in there, just waiting to shine :)

Posted on December 9, 2013, in Crockpot Eats, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

