Pilates For Runners, The Standing Leg Lift/Leg Circles

November is a month full of running and racing, so for all of you runners who have been following my Pilates for runners series, this is one of my favorites. The Standing Leg Lift/Leg Circle. This exercise works the leg, the important stabilizers, the core and increases hip mobility.

I stand in Pilates stance engaging my hamstrings, abdominals, and inner thighs. I keep my arms up and parallel to the floor with my shoulders back and down. I then lift my left leg out to the side keeping my knee facing forward without locking it out. I am inhaling and exhaling as I lift and lower my leg about 8-10 times. I then hold my leg up and balance as I work into leg circles, first clockwise about 8-10 times, then counter-clockwise about 8-10 times. I release back to center in Pilates stance and then repeat on the other side.

20131104_122142-kdcollage (1)

The six principles of Pilates can definitely apply to running. They are concentration, centering, control, breathing, precision and flow. Runners need all of these to run efficiently and with less risk for injury. So, I have always said that cross training is very beneficial for many sports. I know Pilates is an excellent choice for runners to incorporate into their training to strengthen their “powerhouse” and to reduce the risk of injury so they can run faster and with more control.

Piper loves being on camera any chance she gets. Sorry for the butt angle though. Have you tried the standing leg lift before?

Always check with your own doctor before beginning any new exercise or exercise program.

About nthefitzone

Hi, my name is Allyson. I am a 40 something yoga and Pilates teacher. This blog documents my passion for yoga, Pilates, running, strength training, nutrition, and healthy cooking. I hope to inspire others to find their inner athlete, to get strong and healthy, to set goals and reach them. Age doesn't matter. Anything is possible with hard work, determination, drive, commitment and passion. Follow along for some healthy fun and find your inner athlete. It's in there, just waiting to shine :)

Posted on November 4, 2013, in Exercises, Pilates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

