Planks and Gluten Free Pizza Crust

plankkneepink

One of my favorite exercises ever is any form of a plank. Planks work the entire body when done correctly. This exercise is plank diagonal knee which engages the core, strengthens the arms and shoulders, and keeps the heart rate up. I start in high plank position and then bring one knee toward the opposite arm and then alternate. I focus on a steady pace, good control and alignment. I usually do 2-3 sets of 20 within my workouts.

It was just one of those nights when I wanted pizza. I worked so hard on my planks this week, so I thought I would splurge.  I came so close to ordering Mellow Mushroom but I decided to create my own. Earlier in the week I bought the gluten-free crusts. I have never tried it with pizza so this was a first. I found turkey pepperoni, sweet baby bell peppers, onion, mozzarella and fresh basil for the toppings. This was so easy to put together, I just sliced and diced it all and baked for about 15-20 minutes. I enjoyed the crust. It was thin and crispy just like I love.

glutenfreepizza

Would you plank for pizza? Show me your most creative plank and tag me on twitter or Instagram at @nthefitzone.

About nthefitzone

Hi, my name is Allyson. I am a 40 something yoga and Pilates teacher. This blog documents my passion for yoga, Pilates, running, strength training, nutrition, and healthy cooking. I hope to inspire others to find their inner athlete, to get strong and healthy, to set goals and reach them. Age doesn't matter. Anything is possible with hard work, determination, drive, commitment and passion. Follow along for some healthy fun and find your inner athlete. It's in there, just waiting to shine :)

Posted on October 1, 2013, in Exercises, Moves I Love, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment