Back Pain And Fatigue In Corporate America! Release It With Yoga!

downward dogR

Do you work for hours at a desk in front of the computer? Do you find yourself slouching most of the day? Have you developed back pain and fatigue? I have had many clients over the years in this situation. We live in a “seated” world today. We do not move as frequently as we used to.  If this sounds like a problem you have, take little breaks during your busy day to just walk a bit and do a little stretch to help combat your daily fatigue.

One of my favorite yoga stretches is downward facing dog. This stretch is fantastic for lengthening the spine and relaxing the back muscles (strengthens and tones the upper body too:). To do this stretch, I start with a couple of deep inhales through the nose and exhales through the nose. I come on to all fours in a table top position. I then lift my hips toward the sky. As I gently open the hamstrings, I let my heels drift to the floor. I do not force the stretch. I spread my hands like starfish creating a strong base through the upper body. I let my head hang relaxed between my arms. I am gently squeezing the muscles in my legs keeping and active stretch throughout my body. I breathe deeply and steady as I feel my back lengthen and relax with each breath.

If the corporate world is tying you up in knots, take a deep breath, do a little down dog, and exhale. Your back may thank you.

Disclaimer – This blog describes my own experiences and my opinions. Consult your own physician before beginning a new exercise or nutrition program.

About nthefitzone

Hi, my name is Allyson. I am a 40 something yoga and Pilates teacher. This blog documents my passion for yoga, Pilates, running, strength training, nutrition, and healthy cooking. I hope to inspire others to find their inner athlete, to get strong and healthy, to set goals and reach them. Age doesn't matter. Anything is possible with hard work, determination, drive, commitment and passion. Follow along for some healthy fun and find your inner athlete. It's in there, just waiting to shine :)

Posted on January 29, 2013, in Moves I Love, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

