Release The Catechins! Ahhhhh!

green tea

Well, it is that time of year again. I turn the TV on and the first thing I hear is “the flu is spreading”. Yikes! Definitely time to up the tea intake. I love tea and especially green hot tea year round. I drink more during these winter months with the flu spreading around like a wild-fire. I am not sure if green, black, white or oolong help fight the flu but I enjoy drinking it and feeling like the antioxidants that are released are fighting with me.

The picture above is green tea with a little lemon. Green tea is packed with health benefits. Green tea is rich with catechins which are antioxidants that scavenge for free radicals that can damage DNA. One unique catechin specific to green tea is EGCG. There is more EGCG in green tea because there is less processing in that type of tea. I have read articles about lab studies done on EGCG saying that it can be more powerful than vitamin C and E in stopping oxidative damage to cells and has the potential ability to fight other diseases too. Also, I have read that scientists have found that these little catechins increase the body’s ability to burn fat as fuel. Keep in mind to get these antioxidants that are abundant in tea,  you have to consume freshly brewed real teas. There are four varieties – green, black, white or oolong. Anything other than these, such as “herbal teas” are infusions of other types of plants, not pure tea. One last thing, every article I seem to read states that more studies lean toward these positive benefits being true but to keep in mind that the research is still conflicting or mixed. Ok.

Well since I have not read anything terrible about green tea, I will keep on drinking. Cheers!

What is your favorite tea?

Disclaimer – This blog post is my opinion and experience with green tea. Consult your physician before beginning any new nutrition program.

About nthefitzone

Hi, my name is Allyson. I am a 40 something yoga and Pilates teacher. This blog documents my passion for yoga, Pilates, running, strength training, nutrition, and healthy cooking. I hope to inspire others to find their inner athlete, to get strong and healthy, to set goals and reach them. Age doesn't matter. Anything is possible with hard work, determination, drive, commitment and passion. Follow along for some healthy fun and find your inner athlete. It's in there, just waiting to shine :)

Posted on January 11, 2013, in Health Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

