Top 2 Favorite Fat Busting Exercises – The Burpee and The Tire Flip

Hello World,

Fun times were had over the weekend. The Supermodel turned 1-year-old. We celebrated with a little mini meatloaf cake. She loved us singing Happy Birthday to her. We watched her enjoy her meatloaf as we enjoyed my Mega Vege Pizza. It has been 13 days of no meat consumption by the humans around here. The little experiment is going well. We do enjoy vegetarian meals, however, I am finding that for myself I tend to have eaten too many carbs during this experiment. I think I have been around the house too much where I tend to eat mindlessly and since I am not eating meat I am going for the not so great carbs instead. I cannot speak for the husband, but I am excited for Saturday to arrive. I will complete this experiment but then I will be back to one night a week steak night, chicken a couple of times a week, and our usual fish etc..However, I will be very selective on where the meat comes from. I think it is important to research and find the best quality foods. My goal now will be to buy quality grass-fed beef and organic chicken. I am not a fan of pork, deli meats, hot dogs, or any processed meat stuff anyway so that will not be a problem.

Now on to my top 2 favorite exercises right now.

  • The Burpee – this is one of my favorite exercises because it is an exercise that works the entire body at once which burns lots of calories. Lots of muscles are worked during this exercise so it is time efficient. Burpee training improves the anaerobic system and increases the metabolic rate (this is great if your goal is weight management). I will be doing a Burpee Challenge tomorrow. I will see how many burpees I can do in 1 minute. I will post it and I challenge you to find your max Burpee or beat mine 🙂
  • The Tire Flip – this is one of my new favorites because it is fun, works the cardiovascular system, plenty of muscles are involved so calorie burn is high, and it is time efficient. Bootcamp style workouts include this exercise. I have a little competition going on with the husband. Last night we flipped the tire 40 times. His time was 1:09 my best time was 1:19. I will beat his time.

Below is my little demo of The Burpee. I will video my Burpee Challenge tomorrow. Who wants to bust some fat and accept my challenge?

About nthefitzone

Hi, my name is Allyson. I am a 40 something yoga and Pilates teacher. This blog documents my passion for yoga, Pilates, running, strength training, nutrition, and healthy cooking. I hope to inspire others to find their inner athlete, to get strong and healthy, to set goals and reach them. Age doesn't matter. Anything is possible with hard work, determination, drive, commitment and passion. Follow along for some healthy fun and find your inner athlete. It's in there, just waiting to shine :)

Posted on November 12, 2012, in Moves I Love, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

