In Love With Pizza and Pasta ROW#4

Two of my faves are pizza and pasta. Who says you can’t be fit and have them both? Well, portion control and the right ingredients are important to enjoy these two dishes without being frightened of an expanding waistline. I just wanted to show you in this ROW how you can do this. First is the vegetable pizza.

I whipped this little pie up last night. I used a thin whole wheat crust with pizza sauce. I chopped green pepper (still producing from my garden), onion, fresh basil (from my garden), tomato, and a little mozzarella (the pic shows I may have gone a little nutty with the cheese). I baked on 400 degrees until golden and bubbly. See pic below.

Now, I did not go nuts with my portions. I had a couple of slices with a healthy side salad.

I love pasta and I enjoy whole wheat variety even more. I got home after the gym tonight and put together this dish.

I call this Easy Pasta Primavera. Just boil the noodles while lightly steaming cut broccoli, asparagus, carrots. Dump pasta and veges in a bowl and drizzle 1 tbsp of EVOO, dried oregano, sea salt, and coarse pepper. Toss together and top with tomatoes and avocado. It is delightful. Again, I exercise portion control so I can enjoy my faves.

About nthefitzone

Hi, my name is Allyson. I am a 40 something yoga and Pilates teacher. This blog documents my passion for yoga, Pilates, running, strength training, nutrition, and healthy cooking. I hope to inspire others to find their inner athlete, to get strong and healthy, to set goals and reach them. Age doesn't matter. Anything is possible with hard work, determination, drive, commitment and passion. Follow along for some healthy fun and find your inner athlete. It's in there, just waiting to shine :)

Posted on October 23, 2012, in ROW's and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

