ROW#3 Beer and Chicken

I thought beer might get your attention. I really liked last weeks ROW because I love the chili garlic sauce. I am obsessed with that right now. This weeks ROW is Crock Pot Beer Chicken. It is so easy to prepare, high protein, low-fat and you get to put a beer in it. I found this recipe over on laaloosh.ziplist.com This is how it was done.

  • 2 lbs skinless boneless chicken breast or thighs
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 cloves chopped fresh garlic
  • 1 tbsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp coarse black pepper
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 bottle or can of your favorite beer

You can use more or less of the seasonings to your liking. I put in the fresh garlic because I like it very garlic-y. Dump all that in the crock pot and cook on low for 6-7 hours or high for 4-5 hours. Done.

I served the Beer Chicken with Sweet Potato No Skins (better than potato skins) and steamed asparagus. The Sweet Potato No Skins recipe came from Prevention Magazine and I think it was a “Biggest Loser” recipe. This is how they are done.

  • 3 large sweet potatoes peeled and cut into 1/2 inch rounds
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • sea salt
  • cayenne pepper
  • low-fat cheddar cheese
  • non fat Greek yogurt
  • just a few bacon bits (the real deal)
  • chopped green onion

In a big bowl toss cut potatoes with olive oil. Line pans with foil and place potatoes on pan without them touching. Sprinkle with salt and cayenne pepper. Cook on 400 for about 10 minutes and then turn them over. Cook for another 7-8 minutes or until done. Top with a little cheese, Greek yogurt, bacon bits, and green onion. These are so tasty and healthy, a definite do over at my house:)

This is how it looked plated.

Are you ready for this week? Please comment and let me know how you like this recipe.

About nthefitzone

Hi, my name is Allyson. I am a 40 something yoga and Pilates teacher. This blog documents my passion for yoga, Pilates, running, strength training, nutrition, and healthy cooking. I hope to inspire others to find their inner athlete, to get strong and healthy, to set goals and reach them. Age doesn't matter. Anything is possible with hard work, determination, drive, commitment and passion. Follow along for some healthy fun and find your inner athlete. It's in there, just waiting to shine :)

Posted on October 14, 2012, in Crockpot Eats, ROW's and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

