Forget Boring Crunches, I Am Squatting

There are a few definitions of the word squat. According to Wordhippo, squat means to crouch or sit with one’s knees bent and with one’s heels close to touching one’s buttocks or the back of one’s thighs. Another definition is to unlawfully occupy an uninhabited building or settle on a piece of land. Also, to squat can mean an exercise in which a person squats down and rises again possibly holding a barbell or dumbbells.

This last definition is the type of squat I am referring to, the exercise The Squat. Squats are one of my all time favorites. I love to do this exercise because of all the benefits which I will soon describe.

If I am short on time and need a quick and effective workout, I always do a few sets of some type of squat or different variations of squats. They are not only a great lower body exercise, but also when done correctly squats work the core (all the muscles surrounding the midsection) and the upper body. I never spend too much time doing boring crunches to work my abs when there are great exercises like the squat which will give me more bang for my buck (that saying annoys me a little, but it is true).

Here are the benefits for The Squat:

  1. Improved mobility in the ankles, knees, hips and spine
  2. Joint support – leg muscles get stronger as well as joints in lower body (toughens the knees and ankles and their supporting ligaments and tendons) which will help prevent injury especially as the body ages
  3. Improved balance by nourishing the nerves that control movement in that area
  4. Strengthens and tones the core – the abdomen and lower back are used throughout the movement which enhances posture and balance and helps in performing everyday physical tasks
  5. Burns more calories than many exercises like plain crunches or leg extensions because larger muscles groups are being worked
  6. Increases lean muscle which can enhance fat loss

This is why I love squats. They may be challenging but totally worth the effort. I never regret them.

Muscles used during The Squat:

  1. Quadriceps (front thighs)
  2. Hamstrings (back thighs)
  3. Glutes (buttocks)
  4. Spinal Erectors (low back)
  5. Abdominal muscles (referred to as stomach, but your stomach is an organ inside of your abdomen, just sayin:)
  6. Upper body (if you are holding weight)

So there you have it, lots of good reasons to start squatting. Now I am going to do a few sets right now.

Have you done squats recently? Do you have any squatting benefits to add? Let me know if I forgot one:) Thanks for reading.

About nthefitzone

Hi, my name is Allyson. I am a 40 something yoga and Pilates teacher. This blog documents my passion for yoga, Pilates, running, strength training, nutrition, and healthy cooking. I hope to inspire others to find their inner athlete, to get strong and healthy, to set goals and reach them. Age doesn't matter. Anything is possible with hard work, determination, drive, commitment and passion. Follow along for some healthy fun and find your inner athlete. It's in there, just waiting to shine :)

Posted on October 3, 2012, in Moves I Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I agree; doing squats makes you utilize more muscles, and you get a better burn:)

  2. I have a feeling I am soon to be doing squats in your pilaties class!!!

Leave a Reply

