ROW#1 Chicken Taco Chili

The first ROW (Recipe of the Week) is chicken taco chili. I thought this would be a good one because it is a one pot meal. The Crockpot. Who is the genius that invented the crockpot? Anyway, on a cloudy rainy day it is always comforting to smell something slowly cooking, leaving a mouth-watering smell lingering throughout the house. When I think of comfort food I usually think of recipes high in fat and sugar. Well this chicken taco chili is comforting and healthy. Go figure. I got this recipe from this great blog Skinnytaste. Check it out, there are tons of healthy dishes to try. It was a hit and a definite do over at my house. This is how it went.

  • 1 onion chopped
  • 1 16 oz can black beans
  • 1 16 oz can kidney beans
  • 1 8 oz can tomato sauce
  • 10 oz bag frozen corn
  • 2 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes with green chilies
  • 1 packet taco seasoning
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 3-4 skinless chicken breasts
  • chopped green onion, tiny bit of cheese, or cilantro for toppings

Dump first nine ingredients in crockpot and then top with the chicken. Cook on low for 10 hours or high for 6 hours. One half hour before time is up, remove chicken and shred and place back in the pot to finish cooking. Can be served with brown rice. I ate it with just a tiny bit of cheese and chopped green onions. Delicious and filling.

We have a good bit of leftovers, so I am going to try a yummy chicken taco chili salad tomorrow for lunch. I will take a pic and post to the FB page. This is a great recipe because it is low-fat, high protein and fiber. It is great for fueling these workouts. I hope someone out there cooks this and sends me a picture.

October is here. Time to get serious about my goals. Has anyone done the fit test?

About nthefitzone

Hi, my name is Allyson. I am a 40 something yoga and Pilates teacher. This blog documents my passion for yoga, Pilates, running, strength training, nutrition, and healthy cooking. I hope to inspire others to find their inner athlete, to get strong and healthy, to set goals and reach them. Age doesn't matter. Anything is possible with hard work, determination, drive, commitment and passion. Follow along for some healthy fun and find your inner athlete. It's in there, just waiting to shine :)

Posted on October 1, 2012, in ROW's and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I plan to try this when I return from vacay!

  2. Looks great!!

Leave a Reply

