Top 10 Gym Peeves

Why are pet peeves called “pet” peeves? I have peeves, but what does pet have to do with it? The “pet” in pet peeve means one that is particularly irritating. I am writing this post about gym peeves. I can’t say I have a “pet” gym peeve because I have more than one that is irritating. I love the gym and most everything about it. I love working there, teaching there, I have friends there and I workout there. It is like my second home. However, there are things that tend to be annoying to myself and others. This is my top 10 in gym peeves.

  1. Leaving machines loaded with plates or not placing the dumbbells back in their proper place. Such an annoyance, what is with the laziness, this is the gym after all. Pick up after yourself.

    The leg press with 100 lb plates on each side that someone just left on for whoever to take off

  2. Coming to the gym sick. Keep your germs at your house. If you have noticeable symptoms that everyone can hear and see, stay at home. You deserve to NOT workout that day. Gross.
  3. Dropping and slamming your weights down. You look stupid. If you can’t lower them properly, then you should not try to lift them.
  4. This kind of goes along with 3. If you make an annoying, loud, grunting, screaming noise and your head looks like it could burst, try taking it down a notch with the noise and the weight.
  5. Not wiping your sweat off of the benches and equipment. Clean up after yourself. Another gross.
  6. This goes for group exercisers. Talking on phones or just talking continuously during class. Really, why did you show up if you are not going to pay attention? Be courteous to your fellow members. If you have to take a call, leave the room:)
  7. Speaking of phones, no one wants to hear the playlist from your iPhone, use your ear buds.
  8. Out of control children. If your gym allows your child to go with you, keep up with him or her.
  9. Adjusting the thermostat to a ridiculous low temperature. If you have access to your gym’s thermostat and the A/C is on and running, there is no need to turn it down to 60 degrees when it has not even reached 70 degrees. I think a proper exercise environment temperature is about 70-72 degrees.
  10. Coming to workout about 10 minutes before the gym closes. I know, exercising a little is better that not exercising at all. Just be ready to leave the building when it is closing time. Thanks.

Do any of these sound familiar? What are your gym peeves?

About nthefitzone

Hi, my name is Allyson. I am a 40 something yoga and Pilates teacher. This blog documents my passion for yoga, Pilates, running, strength training, nutrition, and healthy cooking. I hope to inspire others to find their inner athlete, to get strong and healthy, to set goals and reach them. Age doesn't matter. Anything is possible with hard work, determination, drive, commitment and passion. Follow along for some healthy fun and find your inner athlete. It's in there, just waiting to shine :)

Posted on August 6, 2012, in Inside The Gym, Top 10's and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

