Fartleks

Week 1 of my latest running challenge was not so great. I confess, it did not go exactly as planned but I did get 2 runs in. I am not giving up, so I started Fartlek week yesterday.

Fartlek is a Swedish term meaning “speed play”. It is a form of interval or speed training to help improve running speed and endurance. It is different from traditional interval training which has specific times or distances. Fartleks are unorganized, meaning each interval can vary. It involves running at faster segments with slower jogs. Fartleks can be done on any type of terrain. If you are just starting speedwork, introduce short distances at a faster pace.English: Sunny Interval Southern slopes of the...

To me Fartleks are fun and challenging. You can measure distance or use a timed Fartlek such as 200m or 30 second intervals. I run in my neighborhood most of the time so I just use mailboxes.  I run different lengths of mailboxes and also vary my pace. During Fartlek week, include 2 Fartlek runs on nonconsecutive days (if you are following along with me). The other 2 days should be regular pace and distance runs. As always, consult your doctor before beginning a new exercise program.

How was your last run? Did you do a Fartlek? How did you measure them? Love to hear your comments:)

About nthefitzone

Hi, my name is Allyson. I am a 40 something yoga and Pilates teacher. This blog documents my passion for yoga, Pilates, running, strength training, nutrition, and healthy cooking. I hope to inspire others to find their inner athlete, to get strong and healthy, to set goals and reach them. Age doesn't matter. Anything is possible with hard work, determination, drive, commitment and passion. Follow along for some healthy fun and find your inner athlete. It's in there, just waiting to shine :)

Posted on August 5, 2012, in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

